"Relâche is sort of the New York Philharmonic of truly creative music.  They stand alone."    — Kyle Gann

Celebrating Workers, Solidarity,
& the Human Spirit

Featuring Emily Ta, winner of the Relâche Ensemble Commission Competition

Sunday 7 November  2021  |  1:00 pm  
Widener Hall @ Penn Museum

QR  Ticketleap_Nov_2021_Relache_performance.jpg

In five standout selections from its signature collection, the ensemble celebrates workers, solidarity, and the strength of the human spirit. Relâche will be joined by Sean Bailey playing clarinets and saxophones. Relâche is excited to announce the premiere of "Metropolis"      commissioned for the ensemble to celebrate the musical accomplishments of budding young composers and raise awareness of the need for women composers to be represented. Ta recently participated in the Women in Sacred Music Project at Temple University’s Young Women Composers Camp. We also honor the late avant-garde iconoclast Louis Andriessen with a performance of his open-score, free-instrumental composition "Workers Union."

"Outcome Inevitable," by acclaimed innovator
Robert Ashley.

"Three Pieces for Relâche" by multifaceted composer and musician
Amy Denio.

"Metropolis" by student composer commission recipient
Emily Ta.

"Barracuda" composed by world-renowned accordionist
Guy Klucevsek.

"Workers Union" by the late avant-garde iconoclast Louis Andriessen.

Admission is free to the Penn Museum after the performance with the purchase of Relâche Re|Union tickets. Please visit relache.ticketleap.com/reunion/ for tickets and also the www.penn.museum information about The Stories We Wear exhibit and COVID protocol information.