Celebrating Workers, Solidarity, & the
Human Spirit

Featuring Emily Ta, winner of the Relâche Ensemble Commission Competition

Sunday 7 November  2021  |  1:00 pm  
Warden Garden @ Penn Museum


In five standout selections from its signature collection, the ensemble celebrates workers, solidarity, and the strength of the human spirit. Relâche will be joined by Sean Bailey playing clarinets and saxophones. Relâche is excited to announce the premiere of "Metropolis"- commissioned for the ensemble to celebrate the musical accomplishments of budding young composers and raise awareness of the need for women composers to be represented. Miss Ta recently participated in the Women in Sacred Music Project at Temple University’s Young Women Composers Camp. We also honor the late avant-garde iconoclast Louis Andriessen with a performance of his open-score, free-instrumental composition "Workers Union."

"Outcome Inevitable," by acclaimed innovator
Robert Ashley.

"Three Pieces for Relâche" by multifaceted composer and musician
Amy Denio.

"Metropolis" by student composer commission recipient
Emily Ta.

"Barracuda" composed by world-renowned accordionist
Guy Klucevsek.

"Workers Union" by the late avant-garde iconoclast Louis Andriessen.

Museum admission is free with the purchase of Relâche performance tickets. Please visit relache.ticketleap.com/reunion/ for tickets and also the www.penn.museum information about The Stories We Wear exhibit and COVID protocol information.

QR  Ticketleap_Nov_2021_Relache_performance.jpg